Real time

I managed to get a slot for an online delivery today. As we are in the run up to Eid (the 3 day festival at the end of Ramadan), starting Saturday or Sunday depending on the sighting of the new moon, and Friday is a full curfew with all shops closed and no one allowed out, today is roughly the equivalent of the day before Christmas Eve… Shops are busy with everyone stocking up on food and it’s traditional to buy new clothes for all your children too.

One thing I love about the app I use for online shopping is that I get a real time update of what my shopper has found and the substitutes he or she is suggesting which I can then approve, make a different suggestion, or cancel the item. He also calls when he finishes shopping to ask if there is anything else I forgot or would like to add.

Maybe this is standard practice in the west too now but I’d not seen it before.

Anyway, happy (almost) Eid, everyone.

About strangelane

Loving, living and learning one day at a time.
This entry was posted in Food, Our destination, Simple things I'm thankful for. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment